Monday, November 30, 2009

The Black Keys

In celebration of The Black Keys new project Blakroc, getting my ticket for their Chicago New Year's day performance (found out about NYE too late and the only tickets I can find are just too pricey, sad, sad, sad) and because they are awesome here are some TBK's treats. The first is a free EP they released via their MySpace page and the other is a soundboard from Sydney in 2003. Enjoy!

The Live EP

1. No Trust - Recorded at The Troubador in LA on 9/13/06 by Dan Auerbach - Mixed by Dan Auerbach

2. Girl Is On My Mind - Recorded at The Troubador in LA on 9/13/06 by Dan Auerach- Mixed by Dan Auerbach

3. 10am Automatic - Recorded at the Mercy Lounge in Nashville on 12/15/2006 by Wilton J. Wall, Jr. - Mixed by Patrick Carney

4. Elevator - Recorded at the Mercy Lounge in Nashville on 12/15/2006 by Wilton J. Wall, Jr. - Mixed by Patrick Carney

Download - The Black Keys - The Live EP

Live in Sydney - 2003-08-15

01 – Thickfreakness
02 – Set You Free
03 – Busted
04 – Yearnin’
05 – Them Eyes
06 – The Breaks
07 – Have Love Will Travel
08 – No Trust
09 – Hard Row

Download - The Black Keys - Live in Sydney - 2003-08-15

Wednesday, November 25, 2009

My Morning Jacket Working on New Record!

My Morning Jacket frontman Jim James has revealed that the band is working on its sixth studio album.

Talking to BBC 6 Music, the singer confirmed that the Tennessee-based rock band have begun the earlier stages of recording new material.

"We're working on stuff but we're just trying to keep it real stress free, real low key. I'd say we're knocking around three or four songs but they're still pretty rough," he explained.

James also said My Morning Jacket could take some time to record their next album, as the band been touring so much over the past couple of years that they need to remember how to take time off and write new songs.

In addition, he told the broadcaster that his side project, Monsters of Folk, is likely to follow up their self-titled debut with another album, although he says he will not rush to make the record.


Tuesday, November 24, 2009

Thursday, November 19, 2009

M. Ward - The Bronx - 2009-04-01

01. Interview
02. Hold Time
03. Interview
04. 100 Million Years
05. Interview
06. Epistemology
07. Interview

**LINK UPDATED 2010-08-25**

Download - M. Ward - The Bronx - 2009-04-01

Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Monday, November 16, 2009

Beck, Wilco and Feist - Skip Spence's - Oar

Pretty Excellent stuff.

Record Club: Skip Spence "Little Hands" from Beck Hansen on Vimeo.

Record Club is an informal meeting of various musicians to record an album in a day. The album chosen to be reinterpreted is used as a framework. Nothing is rehearsed or arranged ahead of time. A track is put up here once a week. As you will hear, some of the songs are rough renditions, often first takes that document what happened over the course of a day as opposed to a polished rendering. There is no intention to 'add to' the original work or attempt to recreate the power of the original recording. Only to play music and document what happens. And those who aren't familiar with the albums in question will hopefully look for the songs in their definitive versions.

Monsters of Folk - Morning Becomes Eclectic - 2009-10-02

Updated with the full set list on 2009-11-16

01 – Dear God (Sincerely M.O.F.)
02 – Say Please
03 – Man Named Truth
04 – Losin Yo Head
05 – Interview
06 – The Right Place
07 – Baby Boomer
08 – Whole Lotta Losin’

Thanks Mystic Chords of Memory V.2!

Download - Monsters of Folk - Morning Becomes Eclectic - 2009-10-02

Thursday, November 12, 2009

Ryan Adams - Fortress of the Spider Gods

Mr. David Ryan Adams posted a sweet little jam the other day at his site by a DRA mind group (that's what I'm calling all his aliases these days) called GALAXIAN.

Download - Ryan Adams - Fortress of the Spider Gods

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Monsters of Folk - Live at The Philadelphia Academy of Music - 2009-11-09

This is the show that was webcasted (is that a word?) the other night. Just started listening right now and the quality is pretty great. I did notice that the sound went out in the left channel on "The Right Place" for a couple of seconds but f*ck it, Jim James still sounds awesome. Enjoy the show guys, I know this will be on repeat this weekend.

Props to Jeff Luke for the photo. The picture is from the Minneapolis show becasue I couldn't find any from Philly and, well, Jeff's pictures are too excellent not to use somewhere!

I wish I could have done more with the artwork guys, the picture is tops but my input is pretty bland, I am absolutely slammed right now and I haven't had a ton of time to focus on the blog, I have some great things downloading right now though and will have them up hopefully soon. Thanks for understanding!

01 Intro
02 Say Please
03 The Right Place
04 Soul Singer (In A Session Band)
05 Slow Down Jo
06 Man Named Truth
07 Vincent O'Brien
08 One Life Away
09 One Hundred Million Years
10 Poison Cup
11 Smoke Without Fire
12 Golden
13 Dear God (Sincerely M.O.F.)
15 Baby Boomer
16 We Are Nowhere And It's Now
17 Lullaby + Exile
18 At Dawn
19 To Save Me
20 Kathy With A K's Song
21 Bermuda Highway
22 Look At You
23 Map Of The World
24 Smokin From Shootin
25 Hit The Switch
26 Losin Yo Head
27 Encore Break
28 At The Bottom Of Everything
29 Whole Lotta Lovin
30 Another Travelin' Song
31 His Master's Voice
32 Outro


God Bless United States Veteran's

Thanks for keeping this place safe guys and gals.

Friday, November 6, 2009

Monsters of Folk - 2009-10-31 - Louisville, KY

Kory Johnson is the man. That's all I can really say. He taped the Halloween show and it sounds excellent. It really is giving me chills, taking me back to Chicago. Listen for Conor Oberst's verse in Smokin' From Shootin', it is an excellent moment.

We are missing the first 2.5 songs, no biggy though, this is such a treat.

Kory Johnson is, on top of being one of the greatest MMJ fans out there, an excellent Louisville, KY based photographer. Check out his site here.

Also check out 37Flood.

1. Say Please
2. The Right Place
3. Soul Singer (In A Session Band)
4. Vincent O'Brien
5. Man Named Truth
6. Smoke Without Fire - Conor and Matt
7. One Hundred Million Years - Matt Solo
8. Chinese Translation - Matt Solo
9. One Life Away - Matt and Jim
10. Golden
11. Tezmezcal
12. Baby Boomer
13. I Will Be There When You Die - Jim and Conor
14. We Are Nowhere And Its Now - Conor and Mike
15. The Big Picture - Conor and Mike
16. Lullaby + Exile - Matt and Conor
17. Sandman, Brakeman, And Me
18. Goodway
19. To Save Me
20. Lime Tree - Conor and Jim
21. Bermuda Highway -Jim and Will
22. Look At You - Jim Solo
23. Wonderful (The Way I Feel) -Jim and Matt
24. Map Of The World
25. Dear God (Sincerely MOF)
26. At The Bottom Of Everything
27. Smokin' From Shootin'
28. Hit The Switch
29. His Masters Voice

30. Detroit Rock City
31. Whole Lotta Losin'
32. Another Travelin' Song
33. Losin' Yo Head
34. Rock N Roll All Nite

**LINK UPDATED 2010-8-12**

Download - Monsters of Folk - 2009-10-31 - Louisville, KY