Monday, April 19, 2010

New Black Keys - "Howlin' For You" and "The Go Getter"

We now have 3 of the 15 new tracks off Brothers the Black Keys new record being released May 18th. Check the Akron, OH duo on road, dates here. Another new song, "Next Girl" is available streaming on their website as well.

01 Everlasting Light
02 Next Girl
03 Tighten Up
04 Howlin' for You
05 She's Long Gone
06 Black Mud
07 The Only One
08 Too Afraid to Love You
09 Ten Cent Pistol
10 Sinister Kid
11 The Go Getter
12 I'm Not the One
13 Unknown Brother
14 Never Gonna Give You Up
15 These Days

Download - the Black Keys - "Howlin' For You"

Download - the Black Keys - "The Go Getter" 

Download - the Black Keys - "Tighten Up"


Anonymous said...

Cool to hear these, but does anyone else not really care for the newer sounds of the last couple albums? I really loved their older stuff...Big Come Up & Thickfreakness, etc, but Attack & Release and the 4 songs I've heard off this album so far I don't really dig.

Jason said...

I understand where you're coming from but my opinion differs. In my opinion they are progressing as musicians and I think it's really cool to listen from "The Big Come Up" all the way to what we have of "Brothers" or "Attack & Release" and understand and recognize the new directions they've gone. Musicians aren't much without progress, I guess it just matters if you agree with that progress or not.

People say the same EXACT thing about the White Stripes. Yeah, on record they may not always sound like the blues duo from Detroit, they've expanded their horizons/vision/musical palette if you will, but live it's still the same experience and that live setting reassures us that it's the same band.

Could you imagine not changing over the course of 8 years?