Monday, March 16, 2009

Neil Young - Dorothy Chandler Pavilion - Los Angeles, CA - 1971-02-01

I bet "Clyde the Camel" is a f*ckin creep.

From the vinyl bootleg "I'm Happy That Y'all Came Down"

1. On the Way Home
2. Tell Me Why
3. Old Man
4. Journey Through the Past
5. Cowgirl in the Sand
6. Heart of Gold
7. A Man Needs a Maid
8. Sugar Mountain
9. Don't Let It Bring You Down
10. Love in Mind
11. The Needle and the Damage Done
12. Ohio
13. See the Sky About to Rain
14. I Am a Child
15. Dance, Dance, Dance

Tour : 1971 Journey Through the Past Solo Tour
Neil Young - vocals, guitar, keyboards, harmonica

This two-record vinyl boot must have sold a million copies, because it seems that just about everyone used to have one. The sound quality is really nice considering the audience recording technology of 1971. Neil is quite talkative, and his "comedy" on "Sugar Mountain" is hilarious. I consider this show essential to a live Neil Young collection.
This is from mint-condition records; I was told they'd been played only six times. Still, you'll notice the vinyl noise -- boots in that era were not exactly high-quality pressings. Still, it's pretty minor, I think. No effort has been made to "clean it up" -- this is how it would have sounded if you were bringing one home from a head shop in 1971. This recording has never emerged among collectors from a non-vinyl source.
CD case artwork is included; it's made from the original album jacket, including some incorrect titles because many songs were unreleased at the time. I still can't figure how they got "It's So Hard to Wait" for "On the Way Home."

Clyde the Camel

Download - Neil Young - Dorothy Chandler Pavilion - Los Angeles, CA - 02-01-1971


O.B. Dan said...

Did you actually listen to this before you uploaded it? Used to be, any album in the O.B. collection sounded like that, it was outta here.

No album skips like that one after six plays unless it was on an incredibly-crappy one-piece stereo by somebody with no regard for the album itself, probably while stumbling around the room too drunk to walk without bumping into things.

O.B. Dan said...

Hey, but other than that, the songlist was excellent and Neil Young is always worth a listen.

Jason said...

I posted it because it's a classic Neil boot, quality sucks but it's like downloading a copy of a bootleg your Dad had in the 70's, I just thought that was cool.